

ALEXANDRA PARK AND PALACE CHARITABLE TRUST BOARD 19th JULY 2016

Agenda Item: 6

Report Title: Acknowledgement of memberships of Boards, Committees and Sub-

Committees

Report of: Louise Stewart, Chief Executive Officer, Alexandra Park and

Palace

Report Authorised by: Louise Stewart, Chief Executive Officer, Alexandra Park and

Palace

Contact Officer: Natalie Layton, Executive Assistant, Alexandra Park and Palace

Email: Natalie.layton@alexandrapalace.com, Telephone: 020 8365 4335

Purpose:

This report acknowledges that there have been no changes to the membership of the Alexandra Park and Palace Charitable Trust (APPCT) Board and updates the Board on the memberships of the following:

Statutory Advisory Committee (SAC) Consultative Committee (CC) Alexandra Palace Trading Company Board (APTL) Finance, Risk and Audit Committee (FRAC)

The Board is asked to note the SAC and CC memberships as confirmed by Haringey Council and appointed by APTL.

Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985

N/A

1. Recommendations

- 1.1 To note membership of the Alexandra Park and Palace Advisory Committee (**Appendix 1**);
- 1.2 To note the membership of the Alexandra Park and Palace Consultative Committee (**Appendix 2**);
- 1.3 To note the membership of the Alexandra Palace Trading Limited Board (**Appendix** 3) including the appointment of Anna D'Alessandro as an officer of the Council;
- 1.4 To note the membership of the Finance, Risk and Audit Committee (**Appendix 4**), with the addition of Anna D'Alessandro.

2. Introduction/ background

- 2.1 The Alexandra Park and Palace Charitable Trust Board is constituted by Haringey Council, the Corporate Trustee of Alexandra Park and Palace Charitable Trust.
- 2.2 The Board may appoint up to four of its members (who are Trustees of the Charity) to APTL.
- 2.3 APTL appoints members to FRAC.
- 2.4 The Statutory Advisory Committee was established by the Alexandra Park and Palace Act, 1985, and membership consists of:
 - eight members appointed by Haringey Council, 6 of whom shall be elected councillors of the areas (wards) neighbouring Alexandra Park and Palace (APP);
 - 6 members nominated by local residents' associations who meet the criteria stated within the Act.
- 2.5 Haringey Council also established a Consultative Committee, which consists of up to 30 members of local groups which meet specific criteria.
- 2.6 Reviewing the memberships of the relevant boards and committees ensures the effective operation of meetings, which contribute towards the strategic priorities of the Trust.

3. Advisory Committee

- 3.1 The representatives on the Advisory Committee must represent residents in one or more of the following wards: Alexandra, Bounds Green, Fortis Green, Hornsey, Muswell Hill, Noel Park.
- 3.2 The associations must be open to all residents in the areas and must have written constitutions and meet regularly.

3.3 Haringey Council Officers confirm the Advisory Committee members each year and receive the minutes of the associations' AGMs (annual general meetings), 2016-17 members are listed at **Appendix 1**.

4. Consultative Committee

- 4.1 The Consultative Committee, established by Haringey Council, comprises the Alexandra Palace and Park Board and up to 30 community representatives.
- 4.2 Currently 15 community representatives sit on the Consultative Committee.
- 4.3 Membership is renewed annually by Haringey Council and 2016/17 members are listed at **Appendix 2**.

5. APTL

- 5.1 The APTL Memorandum and Articles of Association state the maximum number of directors shall be eight and the minimum two comprising:
 - Up to four trustees of the Charity;
 - One employee of the Company
 - One officer of the Council
 - Two others who are not officers or members of the Council or employees or trustees of the Charity.
- 5.2 The current membership is listed at **Appendix 3** and includes the appointment of Anna D'Alessandro, Deputy Chief Finance Officer, Haringey Council as agreed by APTL at its meeting on 30th June.

6. FRAC

- 6.1 The Finance, Risk and Audit Committee is appointed by the APPCT from amongst its members and shall consist of no less than three directors.
- 6.2 The current membership is listed at **Appendix 4**.

7. Legal Implications

7.1 The Council's Assistant Director of Corporate Governance has been consulted in the preparation of this report, and has no comments.

8. Financial Implications

8.1 The Council's Chief Financial Officer has been consulted in the preparation of this report, and has no comments.

9. Use of Appendices

Appendix 1 – 2016-17 SAC members Appendix 2 – 2016-17 CC members Appendix 3 – APTL memberships Appendix 4 – FRAC membership

Appendix 1

STATUTORY ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP 2016-17

Advisory Committee Nominated Members of:

Alexandra Residents Association Jane Hutchinson Bounds Green and District Residents Association Ken Ranson Muswell Hill and Fortis Green Association **Duncan Neill** Palace Gates Residents Association Kevin Stanfield Palace View Residents Association Elizabeth Richardson The Rookfield Association David Frith Three Avenues Residents Association Jason Beazley Warner Estate Residents Association Jim Jenks

Appointed Members:

Councillor James Patterson Alexandra Ward **Bounds Green Ward** Councillor Clare Bull Fortis Green Ward Councillor Viv Ross Hornsey Ward Councillor Adam Jogee Muswell Hill Ward Councillor Mark Blake Councillor Stephen Mann **Noel Park Ward** Council-wide Member Councillor Stuart McNamara Council-wide Member Councillor Charles Wright

Appendix 2 CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP 2016-17

Nominated Members:

Alexandra Palace Allotments Association Alexandra Palace Organ Appeal Alexandra Palace Television Group Alexandra Residents Association

Alexandra Park and Palace Conservation Area Advisory

Committee

Bounds Green and District Residents Association

Campsbourne Junior School Friends of Alexandra Park

Friends of the Alexandra Palace Theatre

Heartlands High School Hornsey Historical Society

Muswell Hill and Fortis Green Association

Muswell Hill Metro Group

Palace View Residents Association

St Mary's CE Primary School

Warner Estate Residents Association

Jenny Bourne-Taylor Hugh Macpherson John Thompson Dermot Barnes Colin Marr

Ken Ranson Jonathan Smith Gordon Hutchinson Nigel Willmott David Cole

Rachael Macdonald

Vacancy John Boshier Val Paley

Frances Hargrove Richard Hudson

Appointed Members

Councillor Pat Berryman Councillor Joanna Christophides Councillor Tim Gallagher Councillor Liz McShane Councillor Anne Stennett Councillor Bob Hare

Appendix 3 APTL (ALEXANDRA PALACE TRADING LTD) MEMBERSHIP

Cllr Joanna Christophides Director (APPCT Board Member & Chair)

Cllr Patrick Berryman Director (APPCT Board Member) Cllr Bob Hare Director (APPCT Board Member) **CIIr Anne Stennett** Director (APPCT Board Member) Director (APPCT Employee) Louise Stewart Non-Executive Director **Rick Wills**

Director (Corporate Trustee officer) Anna D'Alessandro

Appendix 4 FRAC (FINANCE, RISK AND AUDIT COMMITTEE) MEMBERSHIP

Cllr Joanna Christophides Director (APPCT Board Member & Chair)

Cllr Patrick Berryman Director (APPCT Board Member) Director (APPCT Board Member) Cllr Bob Hare **CIIr Anne Stennett** Director (APPCT Board Member) Director (APPCT Employee) **Louise Stewart**

Non-Executive Director Rick Wills